How To: Social Media Weekly & Monthly Reports

This is the start to my series on how I do my weekly and monthly reporting in Social Media. I want to share this with you because it is difficult to choose which metrics to use and how to report on them.

The first part of the report I will go over is the analytics from your website relating to social networking sources. I currently use Google Analytics to do this.

Advanced Segments

So the first step is to set up an advanced segment: Choose the analytics account and profile to add the new segment to. At the top of your dashboard you will see a gray menu bar that on the right hand side has the “Advanced Segments” option, click on this and it will look like this:

As you can see I already have the segment set up, but you would click on “Create a new advanced segment” on the left hand side.

Which will bring you here:

Choose “Add ‘or’ statement”, then under the Dimensions header on the left hand side, choose “Source” and drag it over:

Under condition choose “Matches regular expression” and do not select case-sensitive.

Inside the “Visits” text box copy and paste:

digg|aim|friendfeed|econsultancy|blinklist|fark|furl|misterwongs|wikipedia|stumbleupon|netvibe|bloglines|linkedin|facebook|del\.icio\.us|feedburner|twitter|technorati|fave.com|newsgator|PRweb|msplinks|myspace|bit\.ly|tr\.im|cli\.gs|zi\.ma|poorl|tinyurl

Add another “or” statement the exact same way and copy and paste the rest, as the text box holds only so many characters:

flickr|blog|forum|ht\.ly|ow\.ly|ow\.li|htl\.li|kl\.am|is\.gd| |youtu\.be|

Now you can name your segment, I named it “Social Networking Traffic” and you can  make it visible in as many profiles as you would like.

You can now do several things with your new advanced segment, you can look at it alone or in comparison to other segments. I think that it is important to compare it to your overall traffic to see what kind a percentage social media traffic is to your site.

URL Custom Parameters

For all of my links that go out through social media, I track each campaign with an excel URL manager from  Analytics for Marketers, which is a companion site paired with the book Performance Marketing with Google Analytics. 

I create a copy of the original template for each property/venue that has social media outlets and name the tabs accordingly. For example, if you have Property 1, Property 2, and Venue 1, each would have a separate tab within the workbook.

The Starting Fields in the worksheet ask you to provide a link description, the original link and a no-override option. In the link description I list the dates of the campaign or if it is ongoing along with the subject matter of the related posts. Under the original link you are going to use, it can have additional tracking codes associated with it, like for Omniture, but make sure that no Google parameters are attached.

The next section is the “Required Fields for Tracking”. Under Medium (Channel), I normally list “Social Media”, then under Campaign Name the individual campaign, such as “YouTube Contest 2011”, and finally under source, I use just the sitename, for example either Facebook or Twitter so it will integrate with my regular expressions in the advanced segment.

I do not use the “Optional Fields for Tracking” at all, and I have added an additional blue section to my worksheets labeled shortened link. Here I have taken the “Output to Copy” and shortened it using HootSuite or Bit.ly then copying it back to the worksheet so I can have a record of it.

So there you have it, the Google Analytics section of my weekly reporting. See you next week for more on the social media weekly reports!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,198 hits
May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
